AJCU-EAO holds 2008 General Assembly in Indonesia

[ Picture Gallery in Flickr.com ]
[ Picture Gallery ]
[ AJCU-EAO Minutes of the Meeting ]

The Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities in East Asia and Oceania (AJCU-EAO) held its 2008 General Assembly last August 26-28, 2008 at the Grand Cikarang Hotel, Jababeka Raya, Cikarang Industrial Estate in Indonesia.

Members from the Philippines (ADNU, ADMU, ADZU, ADDU and Xavier), from Korea (Sogang University), from Japan (Sophia University) and of course the host schools from Indonesia (ATMI and Sanata Dharma University) came together for the annual meeting.  The President of the Jesuit Conference of East Asia and Oceania (JCEAO), Fr. Mark Raper, S.J. was also present at the meeting. (List of Participants and Guests)

A Eucharistic Celebration marked the official start of the meeting, with Fr. Jose Ramon Villarin, S.J. as celebrant.  This was followed by a welcome dinner at the ATMI Cikarang Campus.  Fr. Paul Wiryono Priyotamtama, S.J., President of Sanata Dharma, welcomed the participants and guests.  Fr. Joel E. Tabora, S.J., Chair of the AJCU-EAO and Fr. Mark Raper also addressed the participants and guests with welcome remarks.  The host schools, Sanata Dharma and ATMI, showed a movie clip showcasing their school programs and facilities.

The whole day of August 27th was devoted for the GC 35 discussions and the AJCU-EAO Business Meeting.  The meeting centered on the theme: “GC 35 and Higher Education”.  Fr. Benedictus Triatmoko, S.J., President of ATMI, was the main presenter of this topic.  He gave a PowerPoint Presentation on this and shared some of his personal insights and views on the General Congregation 35.  Comments and responses on the presentation were given by Fr. Jose Ramon Villarin, S.J. of Xavier University, Fr. Bienvenido Nebres, S.J. of ADMU and Fr. Mark Raper, S.J of the JCEAO.

Presentations on the Student Mobility Program of Xavier University and Sanata Dharma University were given by Fr. Villarin, S.J. and Mr. P. Kuwandono, respectively.  Afterwards, members and representatives from the different AJCU-EAO member schools shared the developments, recent school activities and programs which were being undertaken by their respective schools in the context of the GC35.

A business meeting followed after the GC 35 discussions.  The following were the proposed and approved resolutions by the AJCU-EAO Board:

  • That the Driyarkara School of Philosophy in Jakarta, Indonesia, be admitted Higher Educational Endeavour Member of the AJCU-EAO as nominated by the Ateneo de Naga and Sanata Dharma University.
  • That the Loyola College of Culion, Philippines, be admitted as Higher Educational Institute member of AJCU-EAO as nominated by Sanata Dharma and Ateneo de Zamboanga.
  • That the Higher Education Group, Australia, be admitted as a Higher Educational Endeavour member of the AJCU-EAO as nominated by Ateneo de Manila, Ateneo de Davao and Xavier University.
  • That the Jesuits and Lay Partners in Campus Ministry – EAO, be admitted as a Higher Education Endeavour member of the AJCU-EAO as nominated by ATMI and Ateneo de Naga.
  • That the Loyola Center in Vietnam be admitted as a Higher Education Endeavour member of the AJCU-EAO as nominated by Ateneo de Naga and Sogang University.
  • That the next meeting of the AJCU-EAO be in Sydney, Australia, either before or after the next ASEACCU meeting.
  • That Fr. Tabora, S.J. as Chair of the AJCU-EAO be authorized to request the Higher Education Group of Australia to host the next AJCU-EAO meeting.
  • That the AJCU-EAO accept the mandate on GC35 on Intellectual Apostolate: “To Foster every possible form of collaboration and promote working in networks among persons, teams, centres and to choose strategically those institutions that can assure excellence in research.”
  • That the AJCU EAO encourages and seeks to support greater collaboration with others in service of the Society’s universal mission, e.g. through formation for both Jesuits and partners, e.g. through formation for both Jesuits and partners.

The Financial Report of 2007-2008 and the Budget for 2008-2009 were also approved by the Board.

A special point for discussion on the AJCU-EAO accepting the challenge of GC35 on Intellectual Apostolate was also taken.  The Board agreed to form an ad hoc Committee which will be responsible in finding the strengths of their member Institutions and will report as well as recommend to the Board the designation of AJCU-EAO member institutions to be Centers of Excellence.  The Centers of Excellence will focus on these research areas:  Environment, Migration, Culture and Religious dialogue.  The ad hoc committee members are Fr. Jose Ramon Villarin, S.J. of Xavier University, Fr. Benedictus Triatmoko, S.J. of ATMI and Fr. Jean-Claude Hollerich, S.J. of Sophia University.

By indicative voting, the AJCU-EAO board identified the following Tentative Research Areas for the respective member institutions:

Higher Educational Institution

Research Focus

ATMI Environment and Business Ethics
Sanata Dharma University Religious Dialogue (with special focus on renewable resources)
Sophia University Cultural and Religious Dialogue (with special focus on Natural Sciences, Engineering and Law)
Sogang University Environmental Issues and Energy Issues (with special focus on Alternative Energy Resources)
ADMU Migration and Family
Environmental Disaster Risk Management
ADNU Environmental Research and Conservation
Social Science Researches
ADDU Migration
Graft and Corruption
ADZU Peace and Health Issues
Xavier Sociology, Agriculture and Marine Coastal Resource Management

The board also decided to rotate the hosting of the Student Learning Programs (SLP) of their member institutions.  Next year’s host for the AJCU-EAO SLP will be Sanata Dharma University.

The AJCU-EAO meeting was concluded by a Eucharistic Celebration officiated by Fr. Antonio Moreno, S.J. of ADZU.  Afterwards a special dinner and Cultural Performance was given by Sanata Dharma and ATMI.  The participants and guests were treated to an array of traditional Indonesian dances and folk songs prepared by Sanata Dharma students and ATMI alumni.

A tour to the ATMI Cikarang Workshops was also experienced by the participants and guests before finally departing to Bandung for the ASEACCU meeting.

Next year’s AJCU-EAO meeting will be in Sydney, Australia.  Dates and venue will be announced as soon as confirmed.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close